Stir-Friday, AKA A Little Warped- Part 1

Yes, that’s another reference. This time from the popular animated television series, Archer.

Anyways, WARPED TOUR STARTS TODAY!

On Fridays, during warped, I’m going to be writing a special series, entitled “A Little Warped.” I’ve picked 14 bands to feature, including the one that my second cousin is in! Just wait until you find out which band that is. I’ll let you know on July 21st, the date of my local show.

I want my blog to center around local bands, so I tried to limit my list to bands with less than 10,000 Instagram followers. Additionally, I tried to include bands that are playing most of the tour. There are a few exceptions, but we’ll burn that bridge when we get to it. (+10 blogger points for that awesome malaphor.)

Today’s featured bands are Alestorm and CKY.

Alestorm Members:
Christopher Bowes – lead vocals, keytar
Gareth Murdock – bass guitar
Peter Alcorn – drums
Elliot Vernon – keyboards
Máté Bodor – guitar

Band Stats:
Hometown: Perth, Scotland
Genre: Pirate Metal, yes, that’s a thing.
Instagram Followers At The Beginning of Warped: 10.5 K
Most Played Song on Spotify: Drink, with 6,752,959 plays
My Favorite Lyrics: Keelhaul, that filthy landlubber, send him down to the depths below, make that bastard walk the plank with a bottle of rum and a yo-ho-ho
Warped Tour Stage: Skullcandy
Dates Playing: 6/21-8/6

Why I chose them:
Alestorm is over my follower limit, but I chose to include them anyway. I am including them in the series because my little brother introduced me to them about eight months ago. It’s something we’ve enjoyed together since. More importantly, around the same time, he introduced our father to them. My dad ADORES Alestorm. Like, he is thinking about attending Warped Tour to see them. That is reason enough for me to include them on my list. Don’t let that terrible reason discourage you from checking them out on tour though! Alestorm is perfect for anybody who likes metal, pirates, theatrical music, mermaids or rum.

Song you have to listen to:

Keelhauled. This song is particularly entertaining if you listen to it while ruminating on the fact of just how messed up the act of keelhauling somebody is. For the record, it’s tying somebody to the ship and throwing them overboard. If the boat is going fast enough, the barnacles along the side will tear them to pieces. If the ship is going slower, they’ll drown. Lovely. Thankfully, the upbeat, make you want dance, ska influenced metal, background music is almost enough to make you forget that terrible imagery.

CKY Members:
Chad I Ginsburg – lead vocals, guitar, synthesizers
Jess Margera (Yes, that Margera, they’re brothers) – drums
Matt Deis – bass, synthesizers, vocals

Band Stats:
Hometown: West Chester, Pennsylvania
Genre: Rock
Instagram Followers At The Beginning of Warped: 9728
Most Played Song on Spotify: 96 Quite Bitter Beings, with 15,161,167 plays
My Favorite LyricsI hope the demon doesn’t dwell inside you, I know it’s gonna get me again.
Warped Tour Stage: Journey’s Left Foot
Dates Playing: All of them

Why I chose them: CKY has been making music for over 20 years. Today, they released their first new album,  in over eight years, and it is amazing. Check The Pheonix out here. I’m stoked to check these guys out when they get to town. Anybody who has been making music for that long has got a ton of awesome stories to share, and will most definitely put on a good show.

Song you have to listen to:
Sink Into The Underground. I love this song, because it’s mellow engulfed by a little bit of funk. The mesmerizing vocals are perfectly backed by rock and roll riffs. I honestly can not get enough of Chad’s voice, and I’m so thankful that this series has introduced me to this band, even if it was two decades too late.

Let me know which Warped Tour dates you’ll be attending in the comments!

XOXO,
Breanna

Leave a Reply

